The Thekla Archives: 2016

Hooton Tennis Club, DHP Presents: Hooton Tennis Club

  • Monday 7th November 2016
Hooton Tennis Club

Hooton Tennis Club are an indie rock quartet from Liverpool consisting of vocalist/guitarist Ryan Murphy, guitarist/vocalist James Madden, bassist Callum McFadden, and drummer Harry Chalmers. Their warm and tuneful yet relaxed sound recalls '90s American slacker indie as much as it does Brit-pop, bringing to mind Dinosaur Jr. and Pavement as well as Supergrass and Teenage Fanclub. Their songs are generally midtempo and fuzzy, but have a strong melodic sense that prevents them from sounding tossed-off. The group signed to Heavenly in 2014 after being brought to the label's attention by Carl Hunter of the Farm. HTC's debut single, "Jasper," co-produced by Bill... Ryder-Jones of the Coral, was released as a limited 7" record in February of 2015. Two months later, the group's cover of Neil Young's "Barstool Blues" was released on a split 7" with the Wytches on Record Store Day. Another 7" single, "Kathleen Sat on the Arm of Her Favourite Chair," appeared in June, and the band's debut full-length, Highest Point in Cliff Town, arrived in August.


The Grove, Bristol BS1 4RB
Doors 7:30pm
Ages 14+

Advance tickets available from: